Teaching in a Digital World-Deanne Drayton

Lifelong Learning

Leave a comment

lifelong learning

Image source: www.glogster.com/loryrous/commit-yourself-to-lifelong-learning-/g-6l5o4vpbt7t84ihmdv1r0a0

This week we looked at lifelong learning and how education helps to develop skills for learning well beyond our academic lives. Educational outcomes are no longer restricted to the years of formal schooling; we are now concerned with developing the skills and aptitudes in our students that will ensure they engage with learning across their lifetime (Howell, 2012). I saw this while I was part of the Committee of Management of the Neighbourhood Center in my town; the center provided a number of general interest programs, such as looking after chickens to Fungi identification especially the ones you should stay away from. I can also use myself as an example, I have been putting together a website for my business and I have put in a lot of time researching the best way to have my site recognised high up in search engines; I have learnt quite a lot about search engine optimisation; having access to a wealth of information online is invaluable when it comes to pursuing your knowledge on topics of interest. Policy also plays a part in what we teach, when we teach it and what the desired learning outcomes are (Howell, 2012). The policy surrounding technology use in Australia is driven by a number of key factors; what is happening around the world, such as the shift towards a global knowledge based society; the changing nature of professions and workplaces; the impact of eCommerce and how we now make money and the digitising of our personal lives and recreational pursuits (Howell, 2012). Lifelong learning is defined as learning that is pursued throughout life; it is flexible, diverse and available at different times and different places (LLCQ, 2014). I for one know I will continue to learn, especially about those topics I am passionate about.

life-long-learning

Image source: http://blog.vipdesk.com/2011/04/04/lifelong-learning-matters/

We were required this week to use Voki www.voki.com. I choose to do my presentation on The Oceania Project www.oceania.org.au. The Oceania Project is a Not-for –Profit research and information organisation dedicated to the Conservation and Protection of Whales, Dolphins and the Oceans.  I created a mermaid avatar; I thought that was appropriate with an uploaded image of a whale in the background. Instead of typing what I wanted my mermaid to say, I recorded myself speaking and used my own voice for my mermaid.

Here is my link www.voki.com/pickup.php?scid=10489604&height=267&width=200

Viki

oceania project

I thoroughly enjoyed using Voki , I enjoyed Voki far more than the last 2 weeks using Sploder and Scratch. Voki was easy to navigate around the tools and very easy to create a presentation. I can see as a teacher particularly in early primary, Voki would be a useful tool to use when presenting to the students. The character tells the story which I would imagine would engage the students more than the teacher. From middle to late primary students would easily be able to use Voki to make interesting presentations of their own.

I am quite excited about Voki and I know I would use it in my classroom.

References:

Howell, J. (2012). Teaching with ICT: Digital Pedagogies for Collaboration and Creativity. Oxford University Press, South Melbourne, Victoria.

LLCQ, (2014). WHAT IS LIFELONG LEARING? Lifelong Learning Council Queensland Inc. Retrieved 21 October 2014, from http://www.llcq.org.au/01_cms/details.asp?ID=12.

 

Leave a Reply

